Lose control!

Often times, we try and control our partners, children, spouses or friends. We try maneuvering every situation according to our whim and fancies. We want the pasta on the plate to look exactly like the way it shows on the menu card. We want to get a pay rise in the next one year no matter what. We want our children to be the best in their class.

We are unhappy with everything that happens around us. All of us, including myself, love to complain. We complain about our parents being too pushy, we complain about our children being disobedient, we complain about our bosses being partial.

We pester and nag everyone and everything including ourselves to make our lives picture perfect. We dissect the smallest of problems and whine about them for hours on end. We are never satisfied.

Then starts the blame game. I didn’t do it because he didn’t let me do it. I didn’t sing because I was afraid of being mocked by them. I didn’t go because she never let me go. I didn’t do this, I couldn’t do that, I am not this, I am not that, and it goes on and on and on.

It needs to stop someday. You need to stop fighting. The pushing and pulling, the pestering and complaining will not help. It will only make things worse.

You do not need to be up to the mark at all times. At a certain point, you need to drop your defenses.

It is okay if you fail. It is okay if your relationship doesn’t work out. It is okay if your child doesn’t excel. It is okay if you don’t win the race.

You need to stop trying so hard. We all need to give ourselves a little time to breathe. Time to let things be. Not trying to change and mould them. Just let them be.

It isn’t giving up. It is allowing yourself a chance to fail. A chance to face one of the most deep rooted fears of the human race. A way to realize, that sooner or later, the jigsaw puzzle does fall into place.

This entry was posted in Random musings by Ria Gandhi. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ria Gandhi

“I really think I write about everyday life. I don't think I'm quite as odd as others say I am. Life is intrinsically, well, boring and dangerous at the same time. At any given moment the floor may open up. Of course, it almost never does; that's what makes it so boring.” ― Edward Gorey

7 thoughts on “Lose control!

What do you think? Let me know!

